51hz9sa+AaL__SL500_AA300_With the popularity that the first season received it was obvious that The Walking Dead would be signed up for a second series. And what a series it is. Bigger and better than ever the undead returned to our screens (again only in America) in 2011.

After the events at the CDC the group decide to head for Fort Benning in the hope of finding food and shelter and protection. But on the way they encounter problems that put them off this path and instead they find themselves taking shelter on a farm belonging to Hershel Greene (Scott Wilson) and his family who have all managed to survive the apocalypse so far. But tragedy continues to strike the group like a plague and the group struggle to hold on to their humanity and not full apart as a unit. Can they hold on to this new place of safety or will the undead get their clammy, rotten hands on it?

This series, somehow, has managed to top the previous one. It’s more hard-hitting, more tragic, more surprising and more brilliant. Oh and there are a tonne more zombies and gory moments, plus jumpy scenes, emotional scenes and tension all around. We get to see the characters flourish more as individuals as well as a group. And there seems to be no end to the shock in this series…and this is my third time of watching it! Be prepared for some shock revelations my friends. More than ever this is a zombie soap-opera, but in a very good way. And this time around we have 13 episodes, not just 6! Result!

Here is a list of the episodes in this series:

  • What Lies Ahead
  • Bloodletting
  • Save the Last One
  • Cherokee Rose
  • Chupacabra
  • Secrets
  • Pretty Much Dead Already
  • Nebraska
  • Triggerfinger
  • 18 Miles Out
  • Judge, Jury, Executioner
  • Better Angels
  • Beside the Dying Fire

My favourite episodes of this series are ‘Cherokee Rose’, ‘Chupacabra’, ‘ Pretty Much Dead Already’, ‘18 Miles Out’, ‘Judge, Jury, Executioner’, ‘Better Angels’ and ‘Beside the Dying Fire’. Which actually works out as the majority then.

And here are my favourite quotes from this season:

  • ‘Am I the only one Zen around here? Good Lord.’ – Daryl (Norman Reedus) – What Lies Ahead
  • ‘Climb down out of my asshole, man.’ – Daryl to Dale (Jeffrey DeMunn) – Bloodletting
  • ‘Sorry, all I heard was “if something happens”.’ – Dale – Save the Last One
  • ‘For the first time in my life, I’m betting on the snowball.’ – Dale – Cherokee Rose
  •  ‘Yeah, and people in hell want Slurpees.’ – Daryl – Chupacabra
  • ‘You see 11 condoms, I see 11 minutes of my life I’m never getting back.’ – Maggie (Lauren Cohen) to Glenn (Steven Yeun) – Chupacabra
  •  ‘I never thought I’d be happy to see a potato peeler.’ Carol (Melissa McBride) – Chupacabra
  • ‘We’ve all wanted to shoot Daryl.’ – Dale – Chupacabra (Yeah he really said that!)
  •  ‘At least I can say when the world goes to shit that I didn’t let it take me down with it.’ – Dale – Pretty Much Dead Already (You are a good man Dale!)
  • ‘Hate to piss in your cornflakes…’ – Dave (Michael Raymond-James) – Nebraska (Um…yum?)
  • ‘The pain doesn’t go away. You just make room for it.’ – Andrea (Laurie Holden) – 18 Miles Out
  • ‘The world we knew is gone, but keeping our humanity? That’s a choice,’ – Dale – Judge, Jury, Executioner (He’s right you know)
  • ‘If he didn’t figure that out, it’s ‘cause he didn’t wanna.’ – Daryl – Judge, Jury, Executioner

Okay so that’s a lot of Daryl and Dale quotes there. Ooops.

This is a really amazing show and continues to get better and better. So grab a hanky (for those emotional scenes), a pillow (to hide behind for those pesky jumpy scenes), a bucket (for those really gross scenes) and someone’s hand (for those really tense moments), because you’re in for a truly rollercoaster of a ride with this series. Good luck my friends.

9.4 out of 10.

 

Got something you want me to review? Then leave a comment below!

Comments
  1. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this website.

  2. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Very useful info particularly the ultimate part 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a comment