Archive for January 7, 2013

28800031_700x700min_1Here’s something a bit different for you all. I’m going to review a TV series this time, just to shake things up!

Grimm has been on our TVs since 2011, and I regret to say that, until now, I didn’t get a chance to watch it. I know, I know, I’m slow okay? Anyway, I got season 1 on box set for Christmas and I must say I’m impressed. It’s not Supernatural, but I can definitely say it is cleverly different and definitely in my top 5 favourite TV shows.

This first series gives us an introduction to the world of the “Grimms”, people who have the ability to see creatures of myth and lore, more specifically the creatures out of the Grimms’ fairytales themselves. We, through Portland homicide detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli), get to experience the different creatures episode by episode. Welcome to a modern day storytelling of the original classic fairytales!

Season 1 is made up of the following episodes:

  • Pilot
  • Bears Will Be Bears
  • Beeware
  • Lonelyhearts
  • Danse Macabre
  • The Three Bad Wolves
  • Let Your Hair Down
  • Game Ogre
  • Of Mouse and Man
  • Organ Grinder
  • Tarantella
  • Last Grimm Standing
  • Three Coins in a Fuchsbau
  • Plumed Serpent
  • Island of Dreams
  • The Thing With Feathers
  • Love Sick
  • Cat and Mouse
  • Leave it to Beavers
  • Happily Ever Aftermath
  • Big Feet
  • Woman in Black

For me the best episodes were ‘Beeware’, ‘Danse Macabre’, ‘Let Your Hair Down’, ‘Plumed Serpent’ and ‘The Thing With Feathers’. And I will admit that the first couple of episodes didn’t grab me like some other series have in the past, but I’m so glad I stuck with it…hell even looking back the first episodes are actually quite good. Maybe it was trying to learn all those new words and planting myself in a strange new world that gave me that first impression.

My favourite quotes from the series are:

  • ‘I didn’t know you couldn’t sing.’ – Nick to Hank (Russell Hornsby) – Pilot
  • ‘My aim is to keep the toilet clean. Your aim will help.’ – Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell)– The Three Bad Wolves
  • ‘You should let us do our jobs before you become our jobs.’ – Nick – Let Your Hair Down
  • ‘”Gift”, German word for poison…which I always found weird at Christmas.’ – Monroe –  Game Ogre
  • ‘It’s still cannibalism.’ – Captain Renard (Sasha Roiz) ‘I think it’s pronounced “capitalism”’ – Sergeant Wu (Reggie Lee) – Organ Grinder
  • (Regarding a severed finger) ‘You want to pick it up again or do you want me to give you the finger.’ – Hank – Tarantella (think about it for a moment)
  • ‘Gentlemen. And you two.’ – Sergeant Wu to Hank and Nick – Love Sick
  • ‘I think it’s time to settle our differences…violently.’ – Nick – Love Sick (ooo badass there Nick)
  • ‘You shoot photos of your family, well I will just shoot them.’ – Edgar (Sebastian Roche) – Cat and Mouse
  • ‘I told you to meet me, not eat me.’ – Nick to Monroe – Leave it to Beavers
  • ‘”Everything has an end. A sausage has two.”’ – Monroe – Big Feet

There were a lot more quotes. Be pleased I didn’t write them all.

Overall, series 1 of Grimm gets a 7.8 out of 10 from me. But I’m promised that the second series gets darker and better…so stay tuned!

 

Got something you want me to review or advice, or do you have something to say about Grimm? Then don’t be shy…leave a comment!