Real Steel

Posted: September 12, 2013 in Film
Tags: , , , ,

ProductImage-7171389Sorry for the delay with this one guys. Time has not been kind to me again! Let’s get to it.

In 2011 director Shawn Levy gave us the film Real Steel.

In the near future Robot boxing has replaced boxing, and ex-boxer Charlie Kenton (Hugh Jackman) is trying to make it big in this new sport. When he finds out that the mother of his child Max (Dakota Goyo) has died, he finds himself taking care of the boy over the summer, forming a bond with him through the sport of Robot boxing when they stumble across a discarded robot named Atom.

Normally I’m not one for boxing. But when it’s robot boxing it makes it much more entertaining! Particularly with the great use of special effects, superb acting and great story… the typical father-son bonding over an event storyline, except this is a hugely adventurous event indeed.

Some may say that this particular story line is cheesy, but it’s easy to get lost in it and feel emotionally attached to these characters.

Some particular classic moments in this film are Ambush the robot versus a bull; Mightus versus Noisy Boy; finding Atom in the metal scrap yard after he saves Max’s life; Atom’s first fight; Atom copying Max and dancing; Atom versus Twin Cities; Zeus doing a pretty impressive Hussain Bolt pose; and finally Atom versus Zeus.

And my favourite quotes from this movie are:

  • ‘Shut up! You’re not helping!’ – Max   ‘Actually, I think I am.’ – Charlie
  • ‘Are you sure you’re 11?’ – Charlie   ‘Yes. I’m sure I’m 11.’ – Max
  • ‘We fight smart and we pray. Seriously, pray.’ – Charlie to Max

Overall, this is a heat-warming film that many people can relate to. One with a bit of a rather cool twist. Not fully my cup of tea ( a phrase I over use in my blog posts I know), but still very entertaining and watchable.

For once I’m going to agree with IMDB! A 7.1 out of 10.

Comments
  1. teny says:

    One of the few boxing movies which I like, but one of the many robot movies which I love! & it was my cup of tea 😀 nice take 🙂

Leave a comment